About Us

About Croatia

Geographical position
Croatia extends from the foothills of the Julian Alps in the north-west and the Pannonian Plain in the east, over the Dinara mountain range in its central region, to the Adriatic coast in the south.

56.594 km2, with an additional 31,067 km2 of territorial waters.

Territorial sea
12 nautical miles


5.835 km (mainland 1.777 km, islands 4.058 km).

Number of islands, islets and reefs
1,185. The largest islands are those of Krk and Cres. There are 67 inhabited islands.

June, 1991 (from Yugoslavia); Independence Day: October 8, 1991

Trade routes
Republic of Croatia controls most land routes from Western Europe and to the Aegean Sea and the Turkish Straits; most Adriatic Sea islands lie off the coast of Croatia

Population: 4.486.881 (July 2010 estimate); 67.5% between 15 and 65 years of age; with the average density of 78.1 inhabitants per km2.

Zagreb (population: 793.000 – 2010 mid-year estimate; the administrative, cultural, academic and communication center of the country).

Northern Croatia has a continental climate; Central Croatia has a semi-highland and highland climate, while the Croatian coast has a Mediterranean climate. Winter temperatures range from -1 to 3°C in the continental region, -5 to 0°C in the mountain region and 5 to 10°C in the coastal region. Summer temperatures range from 22 to 26°C in the continental region, 15 to 20°C in the mountain region and 26 to 30°C in the coastal region.

Ethnic groups
The majority of the populations are Croats (89.6%). National minorities include Serbs (4.5%), and others (5.9%) including Bosnian, Hungarian, Slovenes, Hungarians, Czechs, Slovaks and Italians.

Official language and alphabet
Croatian language and Latin alphabet.

Kuna (1 Kuna = 100 Lipa).

The majority of the population are Roman Catholics (87.8%), and in addition there are a number of those of Orthodox faith(4.4%), as well as Muslims (1,3%), and Christians of other denominations (0,4%), other (0.9%), none (5.2%).